Our School App Stay connected on the go...


Travel & Tourism


YEARS 10 & 11

Course Title: BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Travel & Tourism
Exam Board: Pearson
Qualification: BTEC Level 1/Level 2

About the course

What are BTEC First Awards?

BTECs are vocationally related qualifications, where learners develop knowledge and understanding by applying their learning and skills in a work-related context. The qualifications are popular and effective because they enable learners to take responsibility for their own learning and to develop skills that are essential for the modern-day workplace. These skills include: teamworking, working from a prescribed brief, working to deadlines, presenting information effectively, accurately completing administrative tasks and processes. BTEC Firsts motivate learners, and open doors to progression to further study and responsibility in the workplace.

What is the BTEC First Award in Travel & Tourism about?

Travel and tourism is one of the UK’s largest sectors, currently employing over 2.5 million people. Have you ever thought about how many different types of tourism there are, and how important the travel and tourism sector is to the UK economy? Or about the industries within the sector, their varied roles, and how they work together? Have you considered how technology is changing the way tourists and travellers engage with the sector and its organisations?

The qualification provides an engaging and stimulating introduction to the world of travel and tourism giving you the opportunity to develop knowledge and technical skills in a practical learning environment.

You will explore some of the key areas within the sector, including;

  • importance of the travel and tourism sector to the UK
  • different types of customer
  • UK travel and tourism destinations  
  • tourist facilities including accommodation and services
  • tourism development and promotion
  • transport and visitor attractions
  • international travel and tourism
  • the travel and tourism customer experience

How it is assessed

This qualification is taught over 120 guided learning hours (GLH). It has mandatory and optional specialist units. These units include:

  •  three mandatory units (totalling 90 GLH)
  •  one optional specialist units (totalling 30 GLH).

This BTEC First Award has units that your centre assesses (internal) and a paper-based examination that Pearson sets and marks (external).

External assessment

Externally-assessed units have the same grades as internally-assessed units:


  •  Level 2 – Pass, Merit, Distinction
  •  Level 1
  •  Unclassified.


The table below shows the type of external assessment and assessment availability for this qualification.

Internal assessment

Internal assessment of Units 2,3 & 4 can take the form of posters, annotated maps, reports, travel itineraries, presentations etc. Your teacher will provide you with guidance on what is required for each unit and the success criteria.

Specification Link: